No, you do not need to have your FOID (Firearms Owners Identification) card. However, we suggest you apply for one as soon as possible because it is a requirement for the Illinois Concealed Carry License.→ Do I need my own firearm to take the class?
We recommend that you bring a firearm if you own one. If you haven't purchased one yet, we have a small caliber firearm for you to rent on the range (Handgun rental with ammo is $25). We also cover firearm selection during the class to assist you in making that choice.→ I'm new to firearms, what does this course consist of?
The required 16-hour firearms training course will include range qualification time and shall cover the following:
Firearms Safety Instruction - a minimum of two (2) classroom hours;
Basic Principles of Marksmanship Instruction - a minimum of three (3) classroom and range hours;
Care, Cleaning , Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm Instruction- a minimum of three (3) classroom hours;
All applicable State and Federal Laws Relating to the Ownership, Storage, Carry and Transportation of a Firearm Instruction- a minimum of four(4) classroom hours;
Weapons Handling - a minimum of four (4) range hours
All applicants must pass a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
A minimum of 30 rounds
10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards
10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards
10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP (Illinois State Police
We use RKA Gun Gallery. They have an outstanding indoor range and are located approximately 30 minutes from our classroom. The range fee for the class is only $25.→ Do I need to bring a holster to class?
No, as most ranges will not allow drawing from a holster during live fire. We will provide training guns in class for you to use during our practical drills.→ How much ammo should I bring to the range?
Passing the live fire qualification will require 21 good shots, so we suggest bringing a box of 50 rounds→ Do you offer Handgun rental?
Yes, we do. Handgun rental with ammo is $25.→ Do I need to be fingerprinted electronically for my concealed carry permit application?
No, electronic Livescan fingerprints are just an option which speeds along the application approval. We offer this service in class and the cost is $75.→ How many states can I carry with this permit? And with adding Florida permit?
An Illinois CCW permit covers 24 states. If you add Florida or Arizona non-resident permits you can pick up 10 more states on top of that; both Florida and Arizona will accept our 16-hour IL training course. Utah, however, requires a completely separate class and it will only get you New Mexico and Washington additionally than what FL will get you. For complete list and more detailed info on particular states, visit https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/. Note that you still much apply to those states for a permit and pay their respective state permit application fees.
States only with Illinois CCW Permit/License:
States with Illinois AND Florida CCW Permit/License:
Yes, as long as you can provide a copy of your DD-214 form, you will receive an 8-hour credit and reduced price of $99. When registering online for class, you will only attend the Sunday portion and you must bring a copy of your DD-214 or active duty military ID (only for Active Duty) or you will not be granted the 8-hour waiver. You don't need to notify us prior to class, you will then just need to attend day #2 (Sunday) of our class which is the range qualification and review of all the laws.→ What prior training can be accepted towards the required 16-hour class?
The Illinois State Police created a list on their website of accepted prior training. You can access the list through the following link: https://www.isp.state.Il.us/appriss/ccw/ccwpriortrainingcredit.pdf→ What is your refund policy?
Per our Terms and Conditions, If you need to cancel or reschedule, we will allow a reschedule or issue a refund (only if you bought direct from WSCC within the last 90 days) by contacting us in writing via email at least 7 days in advance before your scheduled class. If you fail to show up for your class, get turned away for being late, or notify us of a reschedule with less than 7 days notice, there will be a $50 rescheduling fee (or $25 for renewal class) if you choose to re-attend class. We will not make any exceptions.→ What type of firearm will I be allowed to carry concealed?
A "Concealed firearm" is defined as a handgun.
"Handgun" means any device which is designed to expel a projectile or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, or escape of gas that is designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand.
"Handgun" does not include:
A stun gun or taser;
A machine gun as defined in item (i) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012;
A short-barreled rifle or shotgun as defined in item (ii) of paragraph (7) of subsection (a) of Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paint ball gun, or B-B gun which expels a single globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter, or which has a maximum muzzle velocity of less than 700 feet per second, or which expels breakable paint balls containing washable marking colors.
No. A handgun carried on or about a person must be concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.→ What is the penalty for carrying a weapon without a valid CCL License?
Generally, an Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class A Misdemeanor and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 3 Felony; however, there are penalty enhancements for certain locations (for example on or within 1,000 feet of any school, public park, courthouse, public transportation facility, or residential public housing). Further, an Aggravated Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class 4 Felony and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 2 Felony.→ What is the parking lot exemption for CCL holders in prohibited places?
Notwithstanding any prohibition to the contrary - except those pertaining to property regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission or where firearms are prohibited under federal law, any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicles trunk , provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle.→ Do you offer the Florida Concealed Weapon License Training?
Yes, we offer the training required by Florida for FREE. The Florida license will allow you to carry in 10 additional states. The Florida application fee is $97.00 for a 7 year license.→ I need to renew my Illinois permit. What do I have to do?
For information on the Renewal Class, please click here: CCL Renewal Class→ How long will it take to obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Upon receipt of a qualified application, the ISP shall issue or deny the applicant an Illinois Concealed Carry License within 90 days, provided the applicant submits a full set of fingerprints in electronic format. If fingerprints are not submitted in electronic format, the ISP is granted an additional 30 days to complete a manual background check. In all cases, law enforcement agencies will have 30 days to file an objection once an application is received.
Other Highlights of the Concealed Carry Act:
- The license shall be valid throughout the State for five years.
- The Illinois State Application fee for the license is $150 (paid directly to the Illinois State Police)
- The State Police must issue or deny the application no later than 90 days (but there are exceptions)
- Law Enforcement agencies can object to an applicant for various reasons, however there will be an appeal process and a review board
- Qualifications for a license are - at least 21 years old, possess a current FOID card, and: Pass extensive background checks: NICS, federal, state, & local criminal, mental health, domestic violence, and includes juvenile adjudications
- Head and shoulder color ID photo taken within 30 days preceding the application
- Firearms training courses must be approved by the State Police and there will be a list posted on the ISP web site
- The training course or combination of courses will be at least 16 hours including range qualification
- Training courses will cover (1) firearm safety (2) basic principles of marksmanship (3) care, cleaning, loading and unloading of a concealed firearm (4) State & Federal laws relating to ownership, storage, carry and transportation of firearms and appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting and carrying firearms.
- Applicants must provide proof of certification by a certified instructor that the applicant passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of firing a minimum of 30 rounds on a B-27 silhouette target; 10 rounds at 5 yards; 10 rounds at 7 yards; 10 round at 10 yards with a success rate of 70%. This does not have to be with gun you will carry.
- The State Police shall recognize up to 8 hours of training already completed toward the 16 hour requirement if the training course is approved by the State Police and recognized under the laws of another state. Remaining hours must cover the State & Federal laws covering ownership, carry & transportation of firearms and the range qualification. The State Police shall accept 8 hours of training as completed if the applicant is active, retired or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces.
- Instructors shall be certified by the State Police and must keep records of all students trained and range qualified.